DISCARDED DEELY BOPPER

I decided to make a trip to THE MUSHROOM WORKS where Becky went to work for the day a couple of weeks ago.  They have an Open Day on the first Saturday of every month.  Its a bit of a trek from Newcastle Quayside to Ouseburn - but at least it wasn't pouring with rain like it was when I showed Becky the route.

The Open Day was a bit of a disappointment as none of the artists/designers/furniture makers/potters were there - just a few examples of their work for sale.  I did have a mooch about and was able to look at a few of the studios through the glass in the doors.  My extra shot shows an artists studio.  Not a good quality shot as the glass wasn't clear.

The weather got brighter as I walked back to the Quayside and it was nice and warm.  I got the bus up to the centre of town and did a bit of shopping.

Just a quiet night in front of the TV - Strictly, Dad's Army, X Factor and Mrs Browns Boys..  Neil has just arrived. He has been working in Winlaton today so its a longer journey home.

I took my blip shot at the Quayside.  You often see girls around town wearing these things.  I knew they had a name but wasn't sure of it so I Googled.  Turns out they are called Deely Boppers.

" A deely bopper is a novelty form of headgear comprising of a headband to which are affixed two springy protrusions  resembling the antennae  of insects.  These "antennae" may be topped with simple plastic shapes or more elaborate and fanciful decorations, such as mini pom poms".  They were invented in 1981 by an American.

Steps today - 12,822

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.