Final destination - MUSHROOM WORKS

Neil went off to work today and hasn't returned.  He has pencilled in tomorrow afternoon for bed building duties.

Becky phoned at 12.30pm while she was on her lunchtime walk. We talked about her forthcoming visit.  She arrives on Thursday evening and will stay at my house.  On Friday she has a work meeting to go to.  She told me where the meeting was and asked if I could plan her a route. as its somewhere she hasn't been before.  Neither had I.  So after she had rung off I did a bit of research online, printed off a little map ( I don't have a Smartphone so I do things the old fashioned way ) and went off to do a reconnaissance.

I got the bus to Gateshead, walked across the Millennium Bridge, along the Quayside towards Ouseburn.  Its quite a long walk but I found the building in the end.  The Mushroom Works - a former warehouse - was opened in 2005 and is home to some of the region's most exciting artists and designers, working in everything from print making to furniture design. The building also provides gallery and venue space and hosts classes and workshops ranging from kids clubs and weekly drop-in pottery classes to jewellery making and life drawing.  On Friday Becky is meeting one of the artists who makes items which are sold on the website which Becky works for.   She has a few meetings lined up in other parts of the country but she was keen to start off with one in her home town.  It will be great to have her staying for a few days.

Took a quick shot of the building and walked back to the Quayside where I got a bus into the centre of town.  Did food shopping in Waitrose and Tesco and toiletries in Boots.  By this time I was very weary and went for the bus home at 6.15pm.

I have added an extra shot - a lovely view of the River Tyne showing The Sage music venue and The Baltic Art gallery on the left and the Millennium and Tyne Bridges. 

Steps today - 11,026

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.