The Wave

We drove to the Yorkshire Sculpture Park this morning to pay a visit to 'The Wave'.  I'd been disappointed that we didn't get to see the commemorative poppies in 'Blood Swept Lands and Seas of Red' at the Tower of London last year so I was pleased to hear that some of the poppies were coming to Yorkshire in the form of The Wave.  It has been sculpted on to the bridge which crosses the lower and upper lakes in the valley below the Sculpture Park Visitor Centre.  The installation will stay here until the 10th January.

As we walked down from the carpark through the fields which contained other art pieces, we were joined by lots of other folks heading towards the lake and I like that my blip captures some of that community of people sharing in the experience.  I took lots of blips from different angles and I struggled between uploading this wider shot and one of the reflection of the poppies in the lake.  See what you think by looking at the others here!

We also took a walk around the 'Art for All' exhibition which is appealing to our government to value the importance of Art for our children (something the present government are not doing!!)  It's not a large display but it makes important points as you can see from some of my flickr blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.