Stripping the Elder

No, my title isn't an obscure Ceilidh Dance!  I remarked to Tony yesterday that the elderberries were on the turn and that I soon expected to see the collared doves amongst the branches, picking them off.  This evening I heard a fluttering high in the tree and looked out to see two pigeons at work.  I don't know how many elderberries it takes to satisfy a pigeon but they were certainly doing a good job of stripping them out!  This one obviously isn't choosy about whether they are ripe or not.

It's been a busy day.  I've picked up the dry cleaning from the Post Office and sent off some cards; tried to find jam pot covers at the garden centre unsuccessfully so made my own; mowed the grass; fed the baskets and tubs  and dead-headed the petunias; put in some washing; sheared the hedge; finished the second sole of some bootees I'm knitting and finally sat down to add some photos to this year's blipbook.  I'm exhausted!

Local blippers please see this Facebook group set up to stop further quarrying on, and destruction of, Harden Moor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.