Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Flying Free

I will never forget...
...the horror of seeing a jet plane crash into the World Trade Center...twice
...the images of people jumping to their deaths
...the collapse of first one then the other tower
...the sense of helplessness and fear

And I will also never forget...
...the way people in my country, and all over the world pulled together
...the sight of American flags flying from every yard, every car
...the realization that we would get through it - together

On this day 14 years ago, nearly 3,000 innocent people lost their lives in the single biggest terrorist attack our country, or the world, had ever seen.  People from over 60 countries lost their lives that day.  Two massive, iconic structures crashed to the ground before the stunned eyes of viewers all over the world.  I still can't look at pictures or film footage from that day without feeling my heart pound, and breaking out in a cold sweat.  

I tried to watch some of the memorial today, but in the end, I just couldn't do it so instead I went outside with my camera and did what I do to sooth my soul.  I watched the birds in my garden go about the serious business of living.  

I choose this image because it felt right.  I hope you like it. Celebrate life.

Debbi

PS:  And a patriotic twirl in Extra because I needed something joyful today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.