Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Sunday Roast

This was my kind of Sunday. I had a bit of a lie in and coffee brought to me while I was browsing iPhones and tariffs on my iPad. Very confusing.

J and Bailey arrived, Archie went crazy. They all went for a big long walk over hills and dales, which included horse poo, as an iMessage from J announced...

JR and I popped into town for lunch, via the Apple Store. And a very interesting visit it was too. I've been researching the options, and thought I had decided on which iPhone to buy, but the newest iPhone6 is very very tempting. The young Apple attendant had some very good ideas about storage and upgrading and recycling old iPads. Hmmmm...

We dined in Twenty Princes Street, which is in the same block as the Apple Store. And most impressive it was too. JR had been for lunch a while ago, and enjoyed it. What a terrific place - the decor is so well done - walls covered with Scottish photos and old maps. We couldn't resist the Sunday Roast. And what a feast it was. A whole chicken, with all the trimmings and a wee pot of very good gravy. And we managed it all! And an excellent coffee. We had a bay window seat, looking out at our painting - the Old Town. What could be better? I'll tell you what could be better (apart from no muzak, of course) - a charming waiter.

He was from Greece. I asked his name.
'Alan'
'That's not a particularly Greek name...'

His mother was Greek, his father Russian, and there is an ancient Russian tribe called Alan. After the fall of the Soviet Union, the family moved back to Greece. And now Alan has come to the UK for work. I love hearing small snippets of people's lives, and I'm pleased that people like Alan come to share Edinburgh with us.

The new shoes performed well! No cramped or nippy toes. Phew.

JR stayed in town, browsing the shops, and we went to collect Archie at Bailey's house later in the afternoon. What a fun day he's had - walked for miles. J is the best 'dog borrower' ever!

And now I shall spend the evening as I started the day - browsing phone deals and tariffs...

PS Apologies for the rubbish iPhone photo...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.