AMS Reunion

After a relaxed morning at home, I drove north to Amsterdam to meet two classmates I hadn't seen in 36 years.  They were with me in both secondary school and university, although we hardly talked to each other at the time (I have mentioned before that I'm not really social or 'groupy').  We caught up very quickly with a lot of news.  P had already been here once or twice but didn't know I live here.  For C, this is the first time.  Both began in Paris where P visited an uncle, and then they took the train to Brussels, and then, after two nights, the Intercity to AMS.

C wanted to eat a traditional rijsttafel and asked me for a suggestion.  I explained that I don't live in Amsterdam so she googled one herself and it was superb!  We met each other there at 18.00 and 3 hours of yakkety-yak followed.  Left the capital at 21.40 and was home by 23.40, thanks to a few areas along the A4 where road repair was taking place.

After dinner, I walked with them to Central Station and took some shots, but will not post those here.  Instead, the extras will show you P and C, as well as one of our typically red-light buildings.  I originally thought of making the red-light building my blip, but I admitted to myself that I preferred the sepia shot of the downpour in front of the restaurant shortly before they arrived.  Would that qualify for Mono Monday?

PS.  Of course I stumbled across a windmill and shot it several times, too.  I think, though, that I will save that windmill for the next time I visit Amsterdam.  I haven't yet predated or postdated a blip and I won't start doing that now.  Will shoot it again when the time comes and, who knows, you just might get to see it.  :D)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.