Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Surprise!

That sums up how I felt when I spotted this freshly emerged female monarch in my garden today.  She was still clinging to her chrysalis which was hanging from a leaf on some echinecea flowers.  her wings look beautiful and she appears healthy, so I expect she'll leave sometime tomorrow after she's rested and fed.  For now, she's resting quietly on a zinnia.

You may recall that I rented a super lens last month when Naturelover and HillyBlips were here.  I liked it so much that I decided to order it from B&H right after they left.  Nikon had miscalculated the demand for this lens (new, very lightweight glass) so it was backordered and I'd kind of put it out of my mind.  Well, I got a notice last night that it had been shipped and would arrive today!  So, what a lovely surprise that was, in addition to the monarch.  I expect to take it out for a proper test run tomorrow, although I already know I'll love it.  Today's photo was taken with my macro 105 mm f/2.8 - a wonderful lens.  And I'm tagging it for this week's TinyTuesday 17 !

I was actually spoiled for choices today as there were some nice fall warbers coming through the yard.  A lovely black-throated green warbler even posed for photos on the cherry tree.  You can see her HERE on Flickr.  I have also posted three other shots starting with a sneaky pair of Nashville Warblers.  If you have time to look, I'd appreciate feedback on the second in this series as it is something I never typically photograph. a small hand tool that belonged to my father-in-law.  As a winter project, I'd like to photograph some of his things that my Hubs now has.  

Okay, I've rambled on enough.  

Toodles.

One more thing... still one hummer hanging out.  Posted her in Extra, although it's a pretty poor shot owing to low light and high ISO...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.