Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hypnotic...

No week of backyard birds would be complete without a blue jay. I am happy to report that blue jays are common in FL - in fact, the last time I was down to visit hubs in our town home, I awoke in the morning to the calls of blue jays. I'm glad that I'll still have these clever, blue comedians to keep me entertained. Of several shots, I chose this one because I liked the fact that he seemed to be putting the whammy on the peanuts. My runner-up shot was this one showing his mastery of the peanuts...

I had a lovely hike this morning with a birder-friend. We talked and walked and saw some interesting things - a perfect way to spend several early morning hours. Several photos...
Lady bug larva eating an aphid _ pretty cool!
An interesting gray furry caterpillar
and a nearly spotless ladybug

Back home in time to shower and then head to my audiologist for annual hearing test. This is always a little stressful for me since I am so aware that I only have one ear. I protect my hearing ear, probably to the point of being obsessive at times - but it pays off. My hearing is EXACTLY as it was a year ago! Very, very happy (and relieved).

And, more good news...at least I hope it turns out to be good. The realtor who "previewed" our home last Friday (and was here less than 5 minutes) called this morning to say that she wants to bring her buyer to see the home tomorrow morning! I am trying hard not to get my hopes up ... but if you would care to send good thoughts, prayers (to any God), good juju or anything else my way, I'd be grateful.

Tomorrow is a crazy busy day for me, so I will have to grab a blip where I can. But, since there are a dozen or so tufted titmice hanging around the yard, and since I haven't blipped a titmouse for while, my inclination is in that direction...

A bit of disturbing news today ... a 300 pound black bear mauled and killed a hiker about 20 miles from here. This is so uncharacteristic of black bears that the bear is being autopsied to try to understand what happened. Which will be of small comfort to the family, I'm afraid. It serves as a somber reminder that black bears, while usually not dangerous, are still wild animals capable of violence.

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.