Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

New camera

I never seem to have any luck with first days. I arrived at the camera shop two minutes after opening time, I did not want to seem too keen. I don't think I managed to fool anyone though as it was pouring torrential rain and I was soaked to the skin. The pick-up went well and I remembered all the little extras, like memory card.

I spent an hour with the manual to gather the information and instruction for my mode of working. A few test shots around the house and I was ready. The problem was that it was still raining. After more reading and more test shots and four hours twiddling my thumbs, it finally stopped raining.

Of course, no one told the insect world that the rain had stopped. Not a single insect, fly, bee or spider could be found. I would have settled for a bluebottle or house fly, hell, an ant would have been most welcome. Absolutely nothing, zilch, nada.

I was just going to do an isometric of the path framed by the trees, when I spotted a horse and rider ambling their way towards me - rescued!

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.