The Mighty Wharfe

Don't Fall In!

It hasn't rained quite all day today, and as I write up this journal at the end of the afternoon the sun is actually coming out sporadically. There is the odd bit of blue sky to behold! A bit too late for eldest son whose 1st XI game got called off this morning, and not relevant for youngest son who wasn't selected again this week for the 2nd XI - although that game is on and he is there watching. They are both hurting a bit at the moment. The season is short and I've not seen either of them play for weeks now. Cricket can be a very frustrating sport to be involved in.

I've got deadlines to meet, adding some extra functionality to our software in preparation for the Olympics, so I'm in the office today trying to make up for time lost last week dealing with other problems. It's all just a bit too fraught at the moment, and it means that, yet again, I've not been able to catch up with many people here, something which is really bumming me out at the moment.

Thanks for the great feedback on my little foray into street/towpath photography. You've given me the confidence to do more of this, something I'm really rather looking forward to exploring further. But not quite yet. The Wharfe has to be featured as my blip today. I popped down to the park before catching the train into the office and managed to catch a brief moment of brightness between the showers. After two days and nights of pretty much continuous rain the river was looking quite magnificent.

This is taken from the old packhorse bridge, which I think I've only blipped once before, here, in a very different kind of mood. The river was roaring today, moving a huge wall of water downstream at a ferocious pace. I don't think you'd stand much chance if you fell in. Awesome is the only word that is appropriate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.