Gallipoli: The scale of Our War

This is a three or four times life size model of Jack Dunn - including the ubiquitous blow flies on his hat, his neck, his hands and his food. He was imprisoned and court martialled, expected to be sentenced to death, for falling asleep on duty at Gallipoli.

Today I finally made it to the Anzac exhibit at Te Papa (NZ museum). Wow. Extremely well done!

When I was up in Wellington in August I went to Peter Jackson's The Great War exhibition but I didn't make it to the Te Papa one. Today I came back and revisited the Jackson one this morning and have spent the afternoon at Te Papa.

Both very emotive.

Planning to catch a movie tonight - haven't chosen which one yet and will likely fall asleep in it anyway. Then hoping for the Karori bird sanctuary tomorrow if the weather holds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.