Flying fast and high

I set the alarm for just before 0400 this morning so that I could watch the Rugby World Cup semifinal between South Africa and New Zealand. Their styles were as I expected, and the main difference from my expectation was that New Zealand negated much of the South African pressure. Their ability to then turn the game around by exploiting the half gap and scoring two tries was what won them the game. Ugly rugby compared with last week's romp against France. But in the end, equally dominant.

The game was over by 0600 (our time) and I left for a run before sunrise. The residue of yesterday's cloudy and wet weather meant that there was a heavy bank of low cloud in the east, delaying my first sight of the sun until I was on my way back from Whisper Cove at the very northern end of Snells Beach.

Fortuitously, a shag flew in front of me as I was composing this shot, and I think it makes the photo more special than had it not been there.

Daughter J had come north yesterday to spend the weekend with us, and she, S and I visited S' cousin and his wife before heading into Warkworth for J to buy some plants to take back for her new garden. While there, I was attracted by the sound of a kereru (wood pigeon) flying over, and was able to get close enough and take my time to focus more precisely than usual. The result is my extra for today.

Although when there I keep hearing a pheasant (they were introduced from England in the 19th century) in the distance, there was no way it was going to be seen.

I am having a really relaxing weekend. Having ceased private practice, and now just doing locums reduces pressure. Especially when the DHBs are keen to offer me work. This means that I am now in the frame of mind again to do more than just post my blip, and turn off blipfoto. I will be looking again at the journals of those I have been missing, and I am grateful that my absence has not deterred many of you from viewing, and commenting. Over the next week or two I will return the compliment.

By the way, this photo rewards a look at the large version, especially if being viewed on an iPad or smart phone

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.