Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

My, what big teeth you have...

This morning, Hubs and I drove about 40 minutes to the Lakota Wolf Preserve, something I've been wanting to do for years.  We spent about 90 minutes on a guided tour (behind two chain-link fences) learning about the three species of wolves at the preserve.  In the process, I managed about 175 photos, some of which came out surprisingly well considering everything was shot through at least one chain-link fence.  This photo is one I particularly like because you can see all of this timber wolfs sharp white teeth - he was actually finishing a yawn.  Still, he looks pretty menacing, doesn't he?  For a tighter crop and more teeth, check out the Extra...

In addition to 17 wolves in four packs, they also have several bobcats and two fox as permanent residents.  None of these animals can be released to the wild, but they have huge enclosures and are very well cared for.  I posted 11 other shots (including two fox and one bobcat) starting HERE on Flickr.

Lakota also sells a private 2-hour photo sessions where you can shoot through openings in the fence for unobstructed views of all four packs plus the other animals..  I am planning to do that sometime this winter, hopefully with PhotoMatt.  It's a bit pricey, but I'm told its worth every penny.  And since I am unlikely to see wolves in the wild, it seems like a good opportunity to get some amazing photos.  

So, it was an excellent morning!  Oh, except for when I went out on the deck this morning and discovered my favorite pink flower pot missing ... it ended up down by our woodshed, where it was evidently hauled by a bear.  I have no empirical proof, but I beleive that bears are attracted to the color pink.  This is not the first time something pink in my yard has been molested...who could forget the horrendous flamingo attack...

Happy Sunday, people...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.