Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Rare Pink Flamingo Pair Visciously Attacked

Yes, people, you saw it here first. The Rare NJ Pink Flamingos were attacked by an irate Bruno this morning. He ripped them from their roost by the woodshed, batted them around and tried to have his sexy way with one of them before wandering off into the woods, leaving pink plastic feather behind... It was horrible. I am most likely scarred for life, not to mention the poor flamingos.

So, this is how my day started. I have a woman who comes every few weeks to help with the cleaning and she shouts down from upstairs (as I am in my office working) "get your camera! There is a bear in the yard!" I flew out, thinking that I was going to need to chase it off the feeders. But no. Bruno had been sidetracked by the pink flamings that I was staging in the woods for a future desperation blip. I've not yet gone out to assess the damage - just in case Bruno is lurking back there, defending his "kill", but from here, things look bad for the flamingos. Very bad.

And in case you are wondering why on earth I have pink flamingos ... (yes, I know you are). My hubs bought them on the sly and "planted" them out in the woods on our anniversary, waiting to see how long it would take me to discover a new and rare bird on our property. I think they are hilarious so have been thinking that they would make a good eblip some winter day when I am too lazy to go out in search of something live. Oh well.

Hey, do these count for the pink challenge? Na, probably not.

Thank you all very much for sending Scar to the Spotlight yesterday - he's chuffed. Well, actually, he only wonders how it will impact the seed supply.

Happy Tuesday, Blippers!

Post Script: I ventured out to the woods to rescue the flamingos. Other than having bent wire legs, they are totally fine, not a single bite mark. It would appear that Bruno was just having a game with them. Who knows, maybe they started it? In any event, they are in my butterfly garden now, hopefully safe from frisky bears.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.