Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Sylvester''s Not Happy

First, thanks for playing along with yesterday's bear/flamingo blip - that was fun! I had been plotting and planning some interesting way to introduce Flossy and Flapper Flamingo and hadn't come up with just the right thing yet ... until Bruno the Bear walked onto the set. Don't you just love it when fate intervenes? But enough of that. The Flamingos are in the butterfly garden, recovering nicely.

Today's blip is Sylvester the Pine Siskin. Several weeks ago a flock of about 20 of these tiny birds came my feeders for an afternoon - I thought they were so cute and such fun to watch. The next day they were gone. Fast forward to three days ago when another flock of 20 or so siskins showed up. Again, cute and fun...until the flock grew to about 50 and they didn't leave! And, let me tell you, they rival the hummers for short tempers! They are the most argumentative little birds I've ever seen - good grief! They make a holiday meal in an Italian family look TAME by comparison!

I've posted some other shots in a short slide show on Flickr if you'd like to have a look. I thought this photo captured the aggressive nature of the birds. In my mind, Sylvester is scolding Shirley for eating too much at the buffet...

You may also enjoying seeing Scar sharing a meal with Tootsie the Squirrel ... apparently squirrels and chipmunks get along fine. And this also shows you what a big size disparity there is between the two.

Hoping you are all having a Happy Humpday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.