Milly's year

This has been quite a year for Milly, my youngest daughter from my first marriage. There have been A levels, of course, although some of the stress normally associated with those exams was mitigated by a surprise unconditional offer from Salford Uni. Then there was the inter-railing, with her boyfriend, Evan.

I must admit that out of all my older daughters, Milly is not the one I'd have thought most likely to do something like that - she and Hannah are the less adventurous pair - but Milly and Evan bring out the best in each other and, from what I saw, they had a brilliant, exhilarating experience.

And at some point over the summer, or maybe before, they announced that after Christmas, they were going to take themselves off to Canada for a few months. After the logistical success of the inter-railing, and also the fact they had worked so hard to save up to fund it, I didn't for one second view this as a pipe dream. Indeed, since the start of September, they've both been working full time in a local bar and are currently sorting out an apartment to move into when they arrive.

It's hard work and long hours at the bar, although they always seem cheerful enough when I pop in to see them. Their shifts can be slightly different, though, and I heard Evan go out at nine, this morning. I took Milly a coffee about an hour later and then I started rearranging the living room, ready for when the removal men come on Tuesday to put most of my stuff into storage,

Milly was due to start work at eleven and came down, showered and dressed, for some breakfast, a little while beforehand. We chatted a little about the day ahead; I think it can seem quite daunting for her, having twelve hours work to look forward to with just a late afternoon break for rest. I think this portrait sums up how she felt about that although, once she'd eaten and finished her coffee, we had a bit of a laugh. Then it was time for a hug and she was off to work. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.