Hallowe'en

One of the characteristics of my youngest daughter, Abi, that I love and admire is the way in which she throws herself into events. When it's someone's birthday, she's the one who will put up notices around the house, prepare a commemorative book for them, and write on all the balloons. (On my birthday she even created a 'Fenner Pictionary'.) And come Christmas, I don't have to look far to find a little accomplice in decorating the house. 

So I wasn't surprised yesterday when I received a text reading "would you mind taking me to asda so I can get a Halloween costume". We agreed we'd go today while Dan was still asleep - I've no idea how that boy is going to get up for school next week - and so it was that we found ourselves in the 'Seasonal' aisle at Asda, this morning. 

Abi was initially disappointed that there were no outfits in her size but she's not the type to give up at the first obstacle. We walked up and down the unprepossessing range of novelty items until her oscillations brought her to rest in front of an inflatable wig. I tentatively pointed out that it wasn't very Hallowe'eny but without turning towards me I heard her say firmly "This could go with my Nancy costume". 

We went home via the house so she collect said costume and as soon as we got back to the cottage she disappeared upstairs only to return a few minutes later to state that the wig needed inflating. I've an irritating dry cough at the moment, so this task, which would have required strong lungs at the best of times, made me feel like I was on the verge of a seizure, a situation which was not improved by Abi transmitting the entire procedure live to a friend via Facetime.  Eventually, though, we were all done and I took the photo above. 

The first bunch of trick or treaters - a bunch of amateurish lads who had to be encouraged to shout "trick or treat" and who hadn't brought any bags with them - appeared before it was dark, while I was still preparing the pumpkins. The first proper bunch appeared once the house was properly prepared, at which point Dan decided that he was not keen on the whole business and hid in the living room while I dealt with the small collection of ghouls and princesses.

After that, they started to come quite regularly, resulting in a stop off at Booths to restock after I'd dropped Abi at her friend's house. I settled down to write about the recent Gary Numan concerts but every time I got into the rhythm of it, there would be more knocks on the door. At one point, there were knocks just as I sat back down four times in a row! In the end, I had to dash 'round to the Spar for more provisions.

I can't remember a Hallowe'en like it. Possibly it was so busy because it fell on a Saturday night but I think I had more visitors this year that in all the previous years combined. My favourites were the little ones, the four and five year olds, dressed up as princesses and super-heroes, whose bemusement and shyness was more than balanced by the fact that everyone was giving away sweets. 

I must say, though, that I do agree with my friend Andrea who said on Facebook that "In my day you used to have to actually do something to get your sweeties. A joke, a song, a poem. Something. THE YOUTH OF TODAY. Don't know they're born." And I do think that would be a bit nicer than just holding your plastic bag out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.