Let There Be Light

By solli

Purple Skies

The sky indeed looked liked this, isn't nature awesome?

Today I received an email from the regional coordinator of the Butterflies and Moths of North America website regarding the unidentified caterpiller that I blipped on June 14th. It turns out that it is a Henry's Marsh Moth

Simyra insularis (Herrich-Schaffer, 1868)

Family: Noctuidae
Subfamily: Acronictinae

Now that they know what it is, they suggested that I submit my photograph to their website for publication, so of course I shall!

It's something to realize that this caterpiller was identified three years before my 1871 home was built. I can only imagine Dr Gottlieb August Wilhelm Herrich-Schäffer (17 December 1799 - 14 April 1874) bending over in the German fields with his net and binoculors. He was the chairman of the Regensburg Botanical Society.

I've begun to catch up with some of your journals, not everyone's yet, but I do promise to take a peek at all of them.

Hope everyone had a wonderful Wednesday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.