Let There Be Light

By solli

Fleeting

Max the stink dog got his bath today and while I was sitting outside enjoying the perfectly beautiful weather as I brushed out his tangles, the hubby noted a butterfly in the rose bush. Being nearsighted I really couldn't see it, but I did have the presence of mind to toss Max into his lap and run to get the camera.

The butterfly flew away just as I focused but luckily for me it lit upon my lavender butterfly bush (Buddleia davidii) for a taste of the sticky nectar.

On a very sad note, I received shocking news yesterday about a fellow Solstice owner who passed away two days after our North Carolina meet. I'm somewhat in a stupor about it; I had thoroughly enjoyed his company during our time in Asheville and his death was so very sudden. He sat next to me on Saturday night and won a first place award for a mural that he had painted under his hood. It was of an eagle that dropped down in front of his car to grab his prey and he had snapped a picture of it. His exhuberance upon telling the story matched my own as I told him about the time the hawk dropped in front of my car to snatch the squirrel. I felt a kindred spirit in him and liked him immediately.

My prayers go out for his family and loved ones and for his friends and co workers who loved him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.