Like a duck to water!!

I went back to the Botanic Gardens early this morning and I virtually had the entire area to myself.  It does surprise me really because it's such a wonderful place to visit in the early hours.  I selected this image because of its serenity.  I was able to get a little closer to the birdlife as the waters are gradually receding after the huge rains last week.

I was absolutely dismayed to say the least to revisit the water lily ponds again.  I posted an image of the glorious water lilies on the 5th of February.  They were absolutely empty of everything, including water.  Totally drained and not a water lily in sight (see extra images).  I decided I would get to the bottom of the situation and called into the administration area when I finished my walk.  Apparently the ponds had a small leak and were draining rapidly.  To my great relief the young gardeners informed me that they had relocated the lilies into the lake surrounding the Chinese Gardens. I had to see it for myself so raced across the gardens and made sure what they had said was true (see extra no 2).  They will obviously take a while to readjust but did appear to be doing okay in their new home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.