Staying, going, undecided

Broken or not I like Christchurch.

On Monday I felt fearful and uneasy to pass through town, yesterday I felt numb and today I felt compelled to bike through the same route as Monday.

I stopped by the Avon River and took it all in. The noise is constant - jack hammers, masonry and steel ripping and hitting the ground, the thrum and throb of big machinery.

It's exciting and even though there is more demolition than building, it's progress. Slowly a new city will emerge. It's a once in a lifetime and we're part of it. Exciting indeed.

Eventually the Rydges Hotel will be a lone landmark on the river. The demolition of the Clarendon is progressing. A remarkable external lift has been installed against the building and is part of the process. Through the trees is a braced heritage building. On the other side of the river sits a tower for safe keeping.

And so I proceeded the wrong way through Gloucester St. The army still have check points on Colombo St. They look bored. I provided potential excitement going the wrong way across their intersection. We briefly eyed each other up but 2 wheels will always beat the feet. They ignored me and went back to boredom ;-)

All you Christchurch blippers check out the intersection of Gloucester and Manchester. There is now an uphill on Colombo St!

Mountain plans for Sunday but the weather looks unkind. An overnight tramp in Lewis Pass the following weekend. Yes!

Back to the present, a mid-week early night for hpx.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.