Maggie @ Abingdon

By MaggieJH

The vicarage

Well we did have sun - all morning. Sadly, due to procrastinating all day yesterday I just had to write. By the time I'd got to where I had to get to it was 2pm and clouding over. I didn't feel like cycling to the lakes so did the 1.5 mile ride into Radley village instead.

I've blipped this beautiful 13th century cottage once before - and I have to say it was a lot sunnier and drier back in February than it is now. Since then I've found out a little more about "The Vicarage" (now privately owned and not one).

It is a "pre-Tudor, oak-framed wattle-and-daub cottage". Alterations took place in the 15th century and the red brick section in the background was added in 1868. Local, entirely-unproved legends suggest it was originally a hunting lodge used by the monks of Abingdon Abbey and that famous guests have included Henry VII.

Whatever its history, I would love to get inside it! No hope though - don't think it's ever open to public view.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.