northern light

By northernlight

Day 26 - Celebrate - #rethinkchurch #rethinkphoto

It's Mother's Day a difficult day for many. Those that long to have children, are estranged from or she has died.

Though the years pass it doesn't get easier, there is still a void.

Church service this morning was a bit tricky, first prayer was about depression, darkness and asking God to shine a light on the path to show the way out of it. There were tears welling up. The service closed with Amazing Grace, which I had a my Mum's funeral. Although I do think of it a bit differently now as the words are more relevant to my change than just having been for her funeral. Still a challenge for today of all days!

One of my good friends invited me to join her family for lunch at the local golf club. They managed to fit us in, a table of 11.

I was a bit anxious about it, although I know them well and a couple of the grandchildren I was now going to be the random interloper and spend time with the rest of the family. It had been waking me up since she invited me.

Logically I know there was nothing to be anxious about, I fine meeting new people, I'll mix with anyone. I blame the tablets for heightening anxiety when there is no need. It is probably more my own subconscious not dealing with the "nobody's child" issue.

As I thought no reason for sleeplessness, I was welcomed in and accepted. A good time had by all.

I got this little gift bag of goodies as an honorary mum. All the ladies got one. Nice touch from the golf club. (Although I am the cats mother)

Lunch was lovely and I had a great day, best Mother's Day since I lost my Mum.

Such a simple gesture for me to be part of their family day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.