Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Number 29 - Eastern Phoebe

This little member of the Tyrant Flycatcher family is almost always our first spring migrant to show up - and, right on schedule, I spotted one in the yard about a week ago.  Since them, I've heard him singing but haven't been able to lay eyes on him again.  This morning, as I stood on the deck with my tea, I could hear him singing his heart out back in the woods.  And later, when I was out pottering around in the yard today and glanced up at the clothesline, I was thrilled to see him perched there, eyeballing me.  Two quick shots were all I got before he flew.  Hopefully I'll get some better shots as the year progresses, but this is good enough for today.  

I had another year-first bird in the yard late yesterday - the first Hairy Woodpecker I've seen since last summer!  They look much like our Downy Woodpeckers, but larger.  They are also quite skittish so getting a good shot will take some time.  Hopefully he'll continue to visit the suet feeder, giving me some opportunities to feature him on Blip.  Hm, maybe he'll be # 30?

I received some more Tiny People in the mail today (winning bid on eBay - yay!) so the next rainy day that comes along will probably see them out and about, posing for the camera.  I am afraid I am rather hooked on photographing them and now Hubs is coming up with possible adventures for them to get into...

Got a pretty nice shot of a song sparrow in the yard today (Yardbird # 24) and have posted it HERE on Flickr if you'd care to have a look.  And while I was out, I saw the strangest thing in my pot of mums ... have a look in Extra...

Happy Hump Day, people.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.