Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

My time with Big Red

After a very wet start to the day, it finally started to clear up after lunch - so I headed off to Fort DeSoto to get some air and spend some time with nature.  I hit my favorite spots but found them to be fairly uninspiring ... high tides and rough seas seemed to keep a lot of the waders away.

But I struck gold at the north beach - after hiking a ways on the soft sand, I found Big Red, the resident Reddish Egret in one of his favorite lagoons.  And I spent the nest hour and a half watching him dance and catch fish.  I don't know if I'll see him again before I leave, so I decided to take about a gazillion shots (well, actually 762, but who's counting?)  Most of them were of Big Red, and most of them have gone in the bin. But I got some shots I really liked, too.  

Big Red is without a doubt the most photographed reddish egret in the world. He's known to photographers far and wide. On any given morning at the Fort, you can find at least a half dozen long lenses pointed in his direction.  And in true celebrity style, he puts on a show and acts as if the cameras aren't even there.  What a delight.  And I had him all to myself this afternoon.  He's in full breeding colors and plumage right now - with bright blue legs and a hot pink beak and luxurious long red feathers all over his head and neck.  

If you've got time, I've posted 14 other shots (most of Big Red, with a few willets and things thrown in for good measure) starting HERE with a pair of ground doves (new bird for me)

The "girls" get here tomorrow - I'm picking them up at the Tampa Airport about 2:20 - and then the good times will begin!  Peg's birthday is today, so we'll spend some serious time celebrating while she is here!  

Seven more sleeps...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.