Northern Exposure

By Northern

Frozen food

Spent a happy few hours this morning rooting up various edible roots in the garden. It has been a beautiful frosty day with a crust of frozen snow over everything. Something very satisfying about breaking through into the crumbly soil where tatties are hiding in the dark.

As I did so, I also unearthed lots of worms for my companion Mr Blackbird. The veg patch is very much his territory and he has become quite tame. Sometimes I almost trip over him. To be honest it's hard not to like such a handsome assistant gardener, never mind one who sings so well and eats slugs.

As well as tatties I pulled beetroot and carrots, normally I leave carrots in the ground and pull them as we need them but as we've had a lot more frost than usual I thought I'd have a go at freezing some.

I haven't done this before but I do remember helping my Mum freeze loads of veg and fruit when I was wee and she got her first chest freezer. My memory is that if you stood still long enough there was a huge danger that she would blanche, bag and pop you in the freezer too.

Seemed to go all right and there is now a large bag of carrots waiting to be used once the ones still in the garden are finished. However I'm now looking at the beetroot and wondering if I can freeze some of it too. I can use some to make soup and freeze it but it would handy to have some which I could then roast or suchlike. But I can't find anything in my cookery books which tells me if it would work or not.

Any suggestions?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.