Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2016 Sunday -- Grading

When I finish grading these in-class essays, I'm going to celebrate, and then I'm going to take a deep breath and try to convince myself that the next project will have better results.

Some of these essays are very good, but not enough. I really do believe that a number of my college students think that I won't read their essay, so they just BS their way through it.

I'm not sure what causes their attitude; maybe they've had teachers in their past who have not read their students' writing. Maybe they don't believe that as professionals they'll be required to write.

Teaching them/helping them to change their attitude about school work is entirely different than teaching them how to write a main point and support it with specific evidence.

During the past couple weeks several former students have stopped me on campus to let me know how much they appreciate the writing skill they gained as we shared a semester together in the past. Their words are very encouraging.

Good night from southern California,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.