DEER IN HERSTELLE'S FOREST

Busy in the garden this morning! The weather lovely, feels extremely good.
In the afternoon we drove to Herstelle, we walked the path that goes from the Festhalle, through the Woods, to the large fields on top of the hills.
Sounds strange perhaps, but the sky was a bit clouded. We walked along the fields, enjoying the views. One sees there the Deisselberg, the Hölleberg and other hills. Everywhere the yellow rapeseed fields come in colour.
When we had enough walked along the fields, we entered the woods again. I had stayed a bit behind, looking at a plant I had not seen before, then I heard that sound, the rustling sound, an animal is on the move.
It could be a bird of course, but it was a deer, running to escape the danger that a human can be. I followed the deer though my camera, and when this one had descended quickly, a second one came running also.
As I had expected to happen.
After our lovely walk we arrived in Herstelle at our starting point.
I was curious to find out if I had captured the deer and if I liked what the
pictures show.
Two extra photos too. Wished I had set my camera at sports. Good tip for next time.

My haiku:

Run to save your life
The deer do not have to think
About it, they run

And the proverb:

Darby and Joan.

(= an attached couple. espec. in advanced years and in humble life)

1735  Gent. Mag.  V, 153 has a copy  of verses:
'Old Darby, with Joan by his side, You've often regarded with wonder: He;s dropsical, she is sore-eyed, Yet they're never happy asunder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.