Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Solace: Day 10

I was woken up this morning by the sound of loud splashing. I couldn't think what it could be! When I opened the curtains I saw what was creating it. Bullocks were coming through a gep in the fence and fighting for a place beside some lush vegetation.

In the time we watched they stripped a bush separating them from a beautiful garden. My heart was in my mouth as they lost their footing on the narrow bank. I forgot that cattle can swim, otherwise I would have worried about them coming our way. In any case, canals aren't deep, they could probably have walked across.

I'm sure in the spell of hot weather we're having the cool water will feel nice but I'll give it a miss myself and use one of the boat's showers.

The Ring was completed this morning and after lunch we continued south-easterly along the Trent & Mersey Canal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.