Maggie @ Abingdon

By MaggieJH

Meandering along

I went back to St Helen's church today to have another go at blipping some of the almshouses in the churchyard that I failed to get to on Saturday due to my spectacular tripping-up episode! However it was dim and drizzling and I've opted for this blip taken a few metres south of the church at one of my favourite spots, St Helen's Wharf.

The building on the left has medieval origins and was once an abbey dyehouse. It was then used as a maltings in the 1700s. Although now an architects' office, it is still known by locals as "The Malthouse". The good news is that I've just seen that the building is open to the public during Abingdon Heritage Weekend in September so I'm hoping to have a nosy around then! The window is a recent addition. I'm not sure when, but it doesn't appear in photos taken in the 1890s.

Thanks very much for all the lovely comments, stars and hearts that helped my poppies get into the spotlight yesterday :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.