Maggie @ Abingdon

By MaggieJH

Afternoon on a rooftop

Although entirely by chance, it seems very apt indeed that I was able to spend 3 hours today on top of my favourite building!

Those of you that follow my journal will know of my love for Abingdon's magnificent recently restored County Hall (previous blips here) built in the 1670s - considered to be the finest of its kind. After my evening rooftop jaunt last week I somehow or other got roped in to be an occasional rooftop volunteer.

Although entrance to the museum is free - please pay a visit if you are in south Oxfordshire - there is a charge to go on the rooftop. This is the museum's only source of public income. Rooftop visits cannot happen, due to health and safety considerations, unless there is a rooftop person present.

I should really have been doing others things - but what an idyllic 3 hours! I took a newspaper and a bottle of water along, but spent most of the time taking photographs and talking to visitors.

I can't thank everyone enough for all their comments and subscriptions, and the fantastic glimpses I have had into other people's lives and surroundings since January 2nd. What an addictive, wonderful community bliptown is!

Finally, big congratulations to all of Team GB - and especially to today's gold medal winners.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.