Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Your time is about up, lady...

I went out early today for a hike - on the trail by 7 am, just me and my camera.  I was watching a couple of yellow warblers flitting around in a tree when I happened to glance over and see this Green Heron, sitting on a snag over the marsh, perfectly lit.  I snapped off about 30 shots before he/she finally got annoyed with me and flew a short distance away, joining a second heron.  A very nice way to start my day!  When I lived in FL, of course, getting close to green herons wasn't all that difficult --- but here in NJ, they are usually gone by the time you get within 100 feet.  So, it made the decision for today's blip relatively easy.

I dashed back home for a chat with my parents (mom is, thankfully, recovering from a nasty cold) then lunch, then back out again for a few hours, this time with the macro lens. I posted my four other favorite shots from today on Flickr, starting HERE with a knuckle sandwich.

So, sixteen days until the AOG2016 starts!  The critters in my yard are all super excited.  Today, I found Team Ant practicing their larvae-lugging event (see Flickr).  They've got some work to do in terms of synchronization, but there's potential.  Team Finch is already complaining that Team Chippie is stealing all their food... And Team-Hummie's captain, P-Hummie, has said he'll allow Attila the Hummie to stick around for the Games.  Things are afoot here at the Tallyho Olympic Stadium, people...

Meanwhile, thank you so very much for keeping P-Hummie towards the top of the Pops page!  I'm afraid he may start making demands soon...

Here's hoping you had a great Hump Day!

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.