Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

I just couldn't do it...

I was going to post this in mono for the Mono Monday Summer challenge... but I just couldn't do it.  I am posting the mono version in Extras if you'd like to see how it would have looked - but I think you will agree with my decision to do it in full color.  If you look closely, you will see this young male hummingbird's first couple of bright red neck feathers ...what will eventually become a brilliant ruby-colored gorget.  Hopefully this young male will survive the migration this fall and perhaps return to our yard next summer to woo the lady-hummies and guard the feeders and challenge P-Hummie.  I'd like to think that will happen...

I posted three other hummingbirds, a robberfly and a mono clearwing moth starting HERE on Flickr - worth a look if you have the time.  

It is another disgustingly hot, humid day - not ideal for tromping around outside.  I was up early so spent some time in the garden, then had a nice long chat with my parents.  Made a few quick sorties outside to stalk photograph various birds and insects, but I've decided its just too hot.  I will tackle some paperwork in the office this afternoon and give the cameras a rest.  

Hubs was beaming when he got home last night - said it is the best time he's EVER had racing (and that is quite a statement since he loves racing).  So glad he got away - he needed a break.  And now he's got another trophy for the collection!

Thank you very much for the rather unexpected response to yesterday's butterfly. Last I looked, she was sharing the first page of Popular with P-Hummie and some other truly remarkable photos.  I feel humbled and honored.  

Happy Monday...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.