LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

Pirates Graveyard...

Tonight I went out to the Pirates Graveyard for a poke round. It's decidedly better kept than when I was young(er), I remember it being overgrown and full of nettles and way spookier than it looks in these photos. I couldn't decide which to blip so I cheated and used four. The little church is utterly beautiful inside. The family in the 'big house' have done a fabulous job on the restoration to make it into what looks like a pretty spectacular wedding venue.

I can only guess the skull and crossbones are the reason it's known as the 'Pirates' Graveyard, I don't know any history behind it and those gravestones were so old and worn there wasn't any writing visible. I'm sure there's a story somewhere but I don't know it.

I nipped in to see my folks and my Dad told me that Robert Louis Stevenson had some connection with Glencorse Parish Kirk so I checked it out when I got home. Apparently (according to Wiki) it formed part of the inspiration for Kidnapped in 1886. I might check that out.

I came home and used JackBlack's recipe for strawberry muffins... they taste okay but they look a bit flat compared to Jack's masterpieces. I need a proper muffin tray rather than the bun tray I used next time! I'll inflict them on work tomorrow.

I've just watched the Olympic highlights, I watched the rowing at lunchtime and it's really quite emotional watching that sort of success. The hairs on the back of my neck were standing up! Go Wiggles... my Mum said she didn't think he was a bonnie bloke but actually he's right up my street with his geeky, odd look. I suspect I have strange taste in men! What a great year he's having! Oh... and did you see the interview with Bert? Van Der Burgh's Dad? Go watch it... the man was bursting with pride! Made me smile!

Thank you for all your comments, hearts and stars taking my swan to spotlight! *mwah*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.