Homework...

I'm currently burning CDs and reading 300+ pages of corporate bullshit speak.

*yawn*

I'm disappointed that Aileen Campbell, the Minister for Children & Young People chose to pass my enquiry to someone else rather than finding out the answer to my questions and responding personally. It seems to be the way of things these days. Don't like the question? Too bad really. Sadly for her, she's not heard the last from me.

The response from Disclosure Scotland is as I expected and confirmed that PVG checks are not mandatory. I shall attempt to scan the letter and link it somehow so you can all read it.

Optional checks to keep children safe? That makes perfect sense... to someone? Like everything else, I imagine that it is all about money. There is a financial burden and I dare say it will be a burden on small businesses/charities. I'd like to say I care about that but quite honestly I don't. It should be factored into their budget. Most of the bigger organisations seem to carry out PVG checks on staff prior to them working with children as standard. Most, not all.

This is also the case in England & Wales.

I realise that it won't change. I'm not attempting to change the world. I do plan to make as much noise as I possibly can so that people are at least aware that they should check before leaving their children with strangers regardless of how above board they may seem.

It may be simply how it is.

That doesn't make it right.

Ask your family and friends. My guess is that like me and all the people I've already asked, they have all assumed that it is a legal requirement. Not so.

I'd say I'm sorry for boring you with this stuff on a daily basis but actually I'm not sorry. Sorry.

The community which has neither poverty nor riches will always have the noblest principles.
Plato


I might tweet that quote to the wanker who thinks he's running(?) the country.

Maybe I'll send him a pair of trainers so he can keep on running.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.