Ice cream...

Was out for lunch with a fellow 40 & fabulous friend at work today. Quattro Zero is really good value for money though if you're looking for someone local to eat throughout the festival. Their ice cream looks delish but I resisted dessert... I'm pretty sure that Bar R will be lucky to make it through the summer, empty tables, meanwhile QZ was full to overflowing over lunchtime. Sad but true... the boys in Bar R really are going to have to do something pretty drastic to survive I suspect.

For those of you interested, my PVG investigation continues... of all of the people I have asked (almost in triple figures now), without exception, they have all assumed that PVG checks are mandatory. The PVG website is a bit of a joke, cleverly worded but nowhere does it give the fact that it is not a compulsory measure and funnily enough the link to the FAQ page on the Scottish Government website appears to have been deleted. Helpful!

I'm unable to let it go. I spoke to Children 1st yesterday who do indeed carry out PVG checks on all staff and volunteers but the lady there was also unaware (and horrified) that it is not a legal requirement when people are working with children, young people and vulnerable adults. They take their responsibility in disclosure checks quite seriously and do not allow staff to commence work until these checks have been carried out. I wrote to the CE to ask her views. Awaiting a response.

Still waiting for a response from the Minister for Children and Young People but I did receive acknowledgement of my email from her assistant. Nothing from Mr Salmond unspurprisingly, but that's okay I have time. And dogged determination. The last one replied to me eventually. *grins*

EDIT: Our delightful Minister for Children & Young People, Aileen Campbell, passed the buck to someone else to respond. You know she's so gonna regret that! I can't even begin to put the response received from Disclosure Scotland in Glasgow into words for you so I shall leave you with a very small taster until I've digested it properly... "The Scottish Parliament felt that a mandatory scheme might deter people from volunteering to work with children and protected adults." Are you fucking kidding me?!

It's unlikely that I will make any sort of massive difference but I can raise awareness so that people do not assume these checks have been made before they leave their children in the care of other people. That's within my capabilities. Whilst I appreciate it will only catch people who have made it through the system and there will be those below the radar, it is the very least we should be doing in a society that clearly has issues when it comes to child protection.

The Children In Scotland and Barnardos Chief Execs are next on my hit list to find out (a) whether they are aware that it is not required by law and (b) what their views are. All of the people I've spoken to so far appear to be pretty disgusted that there is no law in force to have PVG checks carried out as a matter of course. Any other suggestions welcomed...

Administrative and financial burdens are not reasonable excuses for the neglect of basic safety measures to protect our children, young people and vulnerable adults.

A Facebook page is imminent...

In other news... Cameron and I have confirmation of our new slot on Castle FM2 - Tuesday @ 9.00pm till 11.00pm! WINNER!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.