In My World

By JoanneInOz

You're moving out today....

Well here it is, Saturday night, 10.30 pm, and the day I have been promising threatening saying I would be blipping about has been ~ in fact, it is all but over.

Today has been monumental, a day to remember, as my youngest daughter, Emma, moved out of home today.

Emma is my independent girl, my wild child, the free spirit who has made my heart dance and sing since the day she was born.

She was the subject of one of my blips back in April, when she went out and had her torso tattooed.

In May, she was the subject of the day, along with her big sister Hayley, when I showed the two of my girls, posing, as only the two of them can do!

All of this week, the 1977 song by Carole Bayer Sager, "You're Moving Out Today" has been running through my mind. The lyrics to the song are not appropriate to my daughter leaving home (the subject of the song is being unceremoniously tipped out!), but it still works for the day, as the song is contagious and quirky, just like Emma.

And just by coincidence, the song was released in 1977, the year I left home myself.

Tonight, the house feels empty, which I know will be a temporary feeling, as my magical moonbeam will shine her way back into our home for a visit, when we least expect her. We will still spend time together, sharing coffee and chocolate, as she tells me all about the latest adventures in her life.

I don't know if Emma's boyfriend knows it yet, but living with my daughter will at times feel like he is on a roller coaster ride, and there will never be a dull moment. I have every confidence in his ability to cope with her though. He brings out the best in my girl, and I'm hoping she always does the same for him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.