Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... The Real Deal

After yesterday's hummingbird moth, I wanted to blip the real deal today. My dilemma was which shot to blip - nice dilemma to have. This was the pick because she is in full flight mode in this shot. Just out of the frame, another hummer is approaching at full speed while my girl here prepares to do battle. The "bucket list" shot for me is to get two of them doing their aerial fight where they are both in this position, facing each other about in inch apart, while they shoot straight up in the air. So far, I have not been fast enough to catch anything more than a blur.

The juvenile males are starting to get a few of their red gorget feathers now - at first it looks as if they are bleeding, but closer inspection shows a bright red feather. Have a look at one I've named TuDot Hummie here - I think he's a handsome lad, even if his neck is a bit long...

You almost got a dragon eating a bee today, but I decided to go with the hummer instead. There were several interesting dragons in the yard today, including this Dashing blue-eyed fella.

It's hotter than Hades today so I didn't spend a whole lot of time outside - more like quick sorties. We are going to head over to the state fair tomorrow morning, before it gets too hot. I have two photos entered there and I am kind of anxious to see how they look in the photo pavilion. I'll take pictures ... that's weird, isn't it? Pictures of pictures... Jeesh, I'm a dork.

I recently purchased a Himalayan Salt Block and am going to try seared scallops on it tonight. It will be a grand adventure that will hopefully work. Otherwise, it's peanut butter and jelly sandwiches... If you're not familiar with this, it's a solid salt block, 8x8x2 inches, that you heat to 400 F in the oven before taking it out and cooking your meat or fish on it. The YouTube videos make it look easy - why am I feeling a bit skeptical? Stay tuned for details...

I really appreciate all the lovely comments on the clearwing hummingbird moth yesterday! Thanks to you, she flew onto the Spotlight page for awhile today. Amazing creatures, really.

Have a great Saturday and enjoy the Olympics! I am personally rooting for all the athletes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.