Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Day Six - Coming to get you!

I had a big debate today on which photo to blip, this one or one showing an aerial ballet between a hummer and two bumble bees. But I kept coming back to this one. This is a perfect look at the aggressive posture of a hummingbird when it's got another in it's sights. Here you have a juvenile male flying straight up in the air towards another hummer.

Okay, so for those who are wondering, I did NOT win anything for my photos in the fair. I was really hoping the yellow warbler I entered would get at least an honorable mention, but the competition this year was tough (and worthy). I don't feel bad because the winning shots were all really, really good. And, my photos are hanging in the exhibit for the next ten days, holding their own quite well.

Today was glorious and hubs and I spent most of the day outside puttering in the yard. Did some weeding, so planting, and lot of photography. The temps were only about 70 F with low humidity and a nice breeze - you couldn't ask for more!

Tomorrow is Monday, and the last day of my Week of Hummingbirds challenge. Which doesn't mean you won't be seeing anymore hummers, but it does signal a small break while I focus (pun intended) on some of the insect life in the garden.

I think the wrens are about to fledge as Mama is calling to them more now and Dad has stopped singing all-together. And it looks like Brunhilda and the spider-tots may have also "fledged" the garden. Couldn't find her or the young-uns today. And I can't freaking believe I am looking for a spider.

Eight shots, including my second choice (the second shot in the series) HERE on Flickr.

Happy Sunday, people!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.