Sunset At The Rugby Club

What a Wednesday!

The Mother had been to a talk on Monday by Age UK and had got all fired up about hiring a mobility scooter and taking herself off on a tour of the town. Now she always comes into town on Wednesdays and I push her around in her wheelchair and the scooter would save me a lot of effort BUT I have no staff this week and can't go out with her while she tries it out.

Will she be discouraged and wait and wait another two weeks? No!

I was worried! She isn't a driver and the pavements are narrow and uneven in our town. However, she hired it for the morning and I met her for lunch. All was well and she'd had a great experience. It's nice to feel independant.

The Mother was excited all over again tonight when I was able to take her to the local Red Squirrel Group meeting. Cumbria is one of the last places in England where native wild squirrels exist in the wild. We heard how wardens and volunteers work to help them survive.

After the meeting I thought I'd better get a blip. The great colour had gone but I'll remember the evening with this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.