The Librarian

Sometimes I do have to pull out a few of the stops in the culinary department when we have friends coming for a light lunch -with the emphasis on the 'light'.
I do enjoy making soup and for tomorrow's guests I am making my adaptation of butternut squash soup, which features the eponymous butternut squash but also carrot, celery, onion and potato with a dash of chilli at the end. Each time I make this soup it tastes different, but hopefully good.

My book group are reading for the next meeting a book by Susan Hill called 'Howards End is on the Landing'. It is an entertaining book charting the journey of the author's year of re reading or even reading for the first time the books she has on her shelves, and revisiting conversations and anecdotes connected with them.

It is very entertaining because of her fantastic eclectic collection, her ability to inspire the reader to read authors outwith their normal selection and the interesting tales she weaves into the book. It is so good that I have ordered a second copy to give to a friend for her birthday. I know she will love it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.