Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Chestnut sided warbler!

I apologize!!! If you have already come along and commented on the Downy Woodpecker I originally blipped, please forgive me! I was was standing out on the deck before dinner when a completely new bird flew up and perched about 8 feet away from me! I've no idea what it is, although perhaps either a warbler or a vireo of some type, and since I've never seen it before I didn't want to take the chance of never seeing it again - so I've replaced the original blip with this. I'm waiting for a birder friend of mine to confirm an id, and will return later once I have that. In the meantime, if you'd like to have another look at her, I've posted two other shots HERE and from another angle HERE . Since she was such a perfect photo subject, these images are straight out of the camera, no cropping necessary. Woohoo! How often does it happen like that? For me, nearly never.

ADDENDUM: just found out that this is an immature female Chestnut-sided Warbler! A first for me.

I'm still not fully recovered from the damned cold of last week so I seem to be running out of steam quicker than usual. Poo. Had a meeting this morning followed by a 90-minute presentation in front of a very "spirited" group of business owners. By the time I got in my car to drive home, I felt as if I'd just gone 5 rounds in a boxing ring. Well, that's probably an exaggeration, but still... I'm knackered.

I am hoping to join the Audubon group for a nature walk tomorrow - weather permitting. They are scheduled to walk at Wallkill River NWR, a favorite of mine.

Thank you so much for sending yesterday's hummie into the Spotlight! You can expect to see a lot more hummers in the weeks to come. I have to get my fill before they start migrating. All of you who host summertime hummers know what I am talking about - this is the time of year when you know that their time with you is limited...

Last year on this day, I blipped rain drops reflecting flowers...
Happy Hump Day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.