Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Snowy Cowbird

By the time I awoke this morning, the snow was just starting - so after a quick breakfast, I bundled myself and the D750 up and out into the snow we went!  I love photographing in the snow, even though it usually means higher ISO and relatively poor light.  But on the plus side, it means lots of birds in the garden!  A small flock of about 20 or so brown-headed cowbirds showed up briefly and I was able to get some shots of this female sitting on a snow-covered deck railing.  Small crop and some faffing in Photoshop to brighten the image.  And notice that she's got her left foot tucked up snugly into her belly feathers!

If you'd like to know a bit more about cowbirds, and why they are reviled by many birders, see my blip from several weeks ago which featured the much more snazzy male.

My second choice today was this handsome male cardinal.  But I see cardinals every day and cowbirds only on occasion, so the cowbird won the day.

Thanks for all the comments on my white-throated sparrow yesterday.  We're lucky in that it isn't unusual to see at least 5 different native sparrow species during the winter months here in my part of the US.  Of course, we also have the non-native, invasive European House Sparrows.  Ironic that the house sparrow is in serious decline in much of its native lands, while the species is thriving here in the US (unfortunately, at a cost to many of our native species...)

Only two more days until we can say goodbye to 2016.  Maybe it is because I am still grieving the loss of my brother-in-law, but each new death I read about in the news feels like a knife in my heart.  And yesterday, to hear about the death of Debbie Reynolds just a day after her daughter's tragic death...well, it is just incredibly sad.  So, yes, I'd like to see the end of 2016.

Be well, people.
xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.