Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Native Land

I had a wonderful day.  I had to go deep into Tucson for my annual pulmonary function tests.  The tech told me my results were significantly better than last year. *happy dance*  After leaving the office I stopped at Panera Bread for lunch.  Delish!

I love Tucson, especially the east side of the city.  My favorite drive is on E. Broadway Blvd.  It's a lovely 6-lane boulevard separated by a beautiful, wide median. It's lined with restaurants and businesses, large and small.  Driving, for the most part, relaxes me. This afternoon the traffic was light, moving at a leisurely 40 mph(63 km/h).

During the drive, I had my windows down and my moon-roof open, blasting classic rock:
the Stones
Cream
Steppenwolf
Deep Purple
Any faves there?  Rock on!
It was 84° when I arrived home.  Whoo hoo!
---------------------------------------------------------
The BLIP:
This photo doesn't look like much - a lot of desert scrub and distant mountains - but it's what an enormous amount of the San Xavier Indian Reservation looks like.

It is part of the Tohono O'odham Nation. The Nation covers 2.8 million acres (11,330 km2), making it the second largest Native American land holding in the United States (behind the Navajo). Unfortunately, the government keeps screwing them: over their familial, cultural and historical right to cross the US-Mexico border.  #NoWall

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.