In My World

By JoanneInOz

My First Butterfly!

I often hear blipper's lament that they are stuck for a blip and have to be inventive to come up with something.

Today, I have the opposite problem, I'm spoilt for choice! And I haven't even left my own back yard!!

This morning I spotted two butterflies fluttering around the garden. Whilst I initially thought I would never be able to catch up to one to get a decent photo, I remembered RichieBoo, and his stories of chasing after flying insects, just to get a blip. Well, I thought, if it's good enough for RichieBoo, it's good enough for me!

This pretty brown butterfly, which I have identified as a "Euploea core core ( Cramer ) - Danaidae", (or the less impressive name of "Common Crow") soon settled on a flower near the back door, whilst I took photo after photo.

I had my blip for the day, my first butterfly, or flutterby, as RichieBoo would say!

But then...this afternoon there was a brilliant sunset! And...I was able to take a photo of the sunset with one of my increasingly tame kookaburra friends in the foreground!

And that wasn't the end of it....there was a huge (no, really, I'm not exaggerating, it was HUGE!) cane fire in the valley! I actually managed a decent shot in the dark, which I really wanted to add here, just to show my overseas friends how the scrub around the sugar cane is burnt, before the cane is harvested.

So today, I'm cheating, by adding three blips ~ one here, and two more in my blipfolio. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.