Poppy

By Poppy

Old Glasshouse

My friend's husband has been head gardener at a grand house for the last 35 years but, due to ill health, it is now time for them to move on, to down size to somewhere smaller and more convenient for their retirement.

They have found a lovely house, but we are talking quarts into pint pots here! They have a month or so to get turned round. She has such a lot to go through, to sort out, decisions to be made, paperwork to go through, sheds to be emptied, a son about to head off to university and a husband in the middle of radiotherapy treatment, so I am here with my sleeves rolled up, mucking in. We have been friends for more than 30 years, and she has been a source of strength and support to me, and now I hope I can be the same to her.

We have piles for charity shops, family members, recycling, landfill, vintage shops and auction houses. Their friends are all rallying round too, with offers of help, trailers, storage, muscles and, vitally, shortbread to keep us going!

Picked vast quantities of brambles this morning - I can feel another crumble in the offing . . . !



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.