Fields of Fife

Rather than go to church, I opted for a wander around the fields with Lando. The sky was blue, the sun shone, I had my sandals on, and we headed through the stubble of the cut barley fields. Needless to say, my feet were covered in scratches and quite bloodied by the time we got back, but it was worth it because we saw a couple of roe deer and several buzzards. I could hear the buzzards before I saw them, whistling to each other as they circled the skies.

The deer were in an uncut field, and they must have been lying down when we startled them as they leapt up, stared at us and then bounded away. Lando is old enough to realise he can't catch them, so doesn't bother chasing them! Spending all this time with Lando makes me miss Ollie even more. I am really torn as I am quite homesick, for Mike and Ollie, for friends in Orkney, but I really want to stay and help out here as much as I can. Hey ho . . . it's so desperately sad, and there is still a lot to do, but every day more folk get in touch to offer their help and support, and everyone is so keen to lend a hand. Makes you realise how caring folk really are.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.