Marcia Marshalling

Pal Marcia was putting smiles on orienteers' faces as they arrived at the carparking for the Hugset event this morning so she had to be my blip for today.

Hugset, near Barnsley, is a cheeky little wood riddled with bell pits from mining, probably coal according to Tony.  It's not a huge area for orienteering but seriously technical because if you lose your line it is very difficult to relocate.  It's also covered in mean bramble brashings which trip and scratch at every turn, so great fun all round!  I didn't move very fast, partly due to the terrain and because I wanted to stay on my bearing, so I was pleased to finish 7/42 on my course (and just 4 seconds ahead of Marcia who usually beats me!)

It's been a showery day and so we were treated to a full rainbow throughout the morning.  The guy in the loo queue was enjoying our antics!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.