Pottering

I've had a smashing birthday so far, and it isn't over yet!  It began with breakfast in bed and a leisurely read of my Peter May, then Tony returned from the supermarket with a creamy chocolate eclair which we shared before heading out to pick up Jen.  She had booked the day off work because today is also Pete's birthday, but Pete had to work so we had thought of going into the Dales for a walk.  The weather forecast put paid to that idea and then Jen suggested lunch at Cobbles and Clay in Haworth and a bit of pot painting!  This is something I have wanted to do for some time but the occasion has not presented itself.  It is very rare for me to sit still for any length of time so I was a bit daunted for about five minutes then immersed in the task in hand - which was very enjoyable.  Jenny chose to do a tile and a penguin (no surprise there) and I selected a flower vase.  We ordered lunch:  posh fish finger sandwiches for Tony; falafel salad for Jen and red lentil & spinach soup for me.  After lunch, Tony took off for a circuit of Haworth whilst we two set to work seriously on our decoration.  Hopefully my finished jug will match the living room decor if I have chosen the glazes correctly.

Lunch eaten, pots decorated and left for glazing, we walked out in the village, stopping at the famous sweet shop.  I spotted an excellent Tour de Yorkshire jigsaw in the window which showed the cyclists riding up the cobbles - just had to have that!  Tony treated himself to licquorice toffees which he hasn't enjoyed since being a child, then we briefly called in at the Parsonage Shop before heading home.

Now it's a quiet couple of hours doing my new jigsaw before we head out to meet Jen and Pete at the 3Acres to celebrate Pete's birthday too!

ps I love that the welcome blackboard in the background finishes with 'ey up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.